Africa: Zimbabwe retains Tourism Minister as new Cabinet is Announced

zimbabwe UK, lufthansa

Zimbabwe President, Emmerson Mnangagwa, has formed a new cabinet retain the country’s minister of tourism, Priscah Mupfumira.

On 30 November 2017, Emmerson Mnangagwa, who succeeded ousted President Robert Mugabe, formed a new cabinet. On 3 December 2017, Mnangagwa replaced two of his ministers amidst criticism by opposition parties.

Also, on 7 September 2018, President Mnangagwa appointed a new cabinet after winning 2018 presidential elections. The new 20 member cabinet, along with 13 deputy ministers and nine provincial ministers, was sworn in on 11 September 2018.

Composition of the Second Mnangagwa Cabinet after 2018 elections

Emmarson Dambudzo Mnagagwa was elected President for the first time in his on right in elections held on 30 July 2018 (after previously finishing the term of Robert Mugabe in July 2018). The election result was disputed and challenged before the Zimbabwean Constitutional court. The court ruled in Mnagagwa’s favor and he was sworn in on 26 August 2018.

On 31 August in accordance with the constitution, Mnagagwa appointed and swore in Constantine Chiwenga and Kembo Mohadi as first and second Vice President respectively. The 2013 Constitution provides that any presidential election within ten years after the first election ( the first election being 2013 after the adoption of the 2013 Constitution) the two vice Presidents are appointed and not elected with the president. From 2023 onward the President and the two vice Presidents will be elected on the same ticket and in the same election as the President

 Constantino Chiwenga – Vice President
 Kembo Mohadi- Vice President
 Prof Mthuli Ncube – Finance & Economic Development
 Oppah Muchinguri-Kashiri – Defence & War Veterans
 July Moyo – Local Government, Public Works and National Housing
 Sibusiso Moyo – Foreign Affairs and international Trade
 Sekai Nzenza – Public Service and Social Welfare
 Mangaliso Ndlovu – Industry and Commerce
 Cain Mathema – Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage
 Amon Murwira – Higher and Tertiary Education Science and Technology Development
 Prof Paul Mavima – Primary and Secondary Education
 Perence Shiri – Lands, Agriculture, Water, Climate and Rural Resettlement
 Winston Chitando – Mines and Mining Development
 Joram Gumbo – Energy and power development
 Joel Matiza – Transport and Infrastructural Development
 Monica Mutsvangwa – Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services
 Kazembe Kazembe – Information Communication Technology Courier Services
 Priscah Mupfumira – Environment, Tourism and Hospitality Industry
 Kirsty Coventry – Youth, Sport, Arts and Recreation
 Obadiah Moyo – Health and Child Care
 Ziyambi Ziyambi – Justice Legal and Parliamentary Affairs
 Sithembiso Nyoni – Women Affairs, Community, Small and Medium Enterprise Development.

In making the announcement Mnangagwa stated his believe that he had chosen “the right team to head the ministries and is optimistic that they will deliver.


Share our story:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *